What to see in Marrakech? 10 places not to be missed

What to see in Marrakech? 10 places not to be missed

You can spend a whole day to discovering the Medina and its souks and walking its winding streets.

Stroll through Jamaa El-Fna Square located in the center of the medina sipping fresh orange juice and letting yourself be captivated by street shows, snake charmers’ acts and henna tattooists.

Also enjoy a horse-drawn carriage ride to visit the city.

At nightfall, the Jamaa el fna square changes facet and lives to the rhythm of the restaurants that take over the space. A veil of smoke and typical Moroccan scents float above the square where young and old meet for dinner.

The Koutoubia Mosque reigns over the city. However, like the rest of the city’s mosques, entry is closed to non-Muslims.

Still in the Medina, the desire to be even more dazzled will guide you to visit the unmissable palaces of the city. These are the Bahia Palace and the Badii Palace.

The Bahia Palace, bordered by green spaces, centered by a gigantic courtyard and adorned with finely decorated frescoes, is a place rich in discoveries. The entrance fee is 70 dh (7 €), open every day from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.

The Badii Palace, is grandiose in its size and scope is partly destroyed.

It presents itself as a setting in ruins, with ponds and orange groves offering a magnificent view of Marrakech from its roof. Storks have made their home there in huge nests on the entrance walls. The palace hosts festivals such as the annual Marrakech folklore festival and the Marrakech du rire festival created by Jamel Debbouze. The price of entry is 70 dh (7 €). Open every day from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.

In these two palaces, there is not really any information available to explain the history of the places when you are there. Remember to find out beforehand or take a guide to accompany you on your visit. You can book a guide who will accompany you during your visits on our platform.

Also to see: the Saadian Tombs, places housing the burials of the Saadian royal family.

Their reign of the 16th and late 17th corresponds to the golden age of the city. The place offers an anthology of Hispano-Moorish decorations, a pretty garden and magnificent mausoleums. In addition, you will find a corner with a screen that broadcasts the history of the Saadian Tombs. Admission is 70 dh (7 €), open daily from 9 a.m. to 12 p.m. and from 2:30 p.m. to 6 p.m.

In addition to the sumptuous palaces, several museums are also nestled in the Medina of Marrakech.

Among them is La Maison de la Photographie located in a three-storey riad.

Various snapshots of the landscapes of Morocco and the way of life of its inhabitants between 1870 and 1950, will parade along this visit. You can end your visit by sipping mint tea in the rooftop cafe overlooking the medina. Admission is 50dh (5 €), open every day from 9:30 am to 7 pm.

The Confluence Museum is also a museum not to be missed in Marrakech. Pieces exposing the richness of Moroccan culture, each more beautiful than the next, will open their doors to you. At the heart of the museum you will fall under the spell of the café dar el Bacha, a magnificent taste and visual experience, the place is breathtaking. For the museum, the entrance fee is 60 dh (6 €) open all week, except Tuesday, from 10 a.m. to 6 p.m.

The Medina of Marrakech is also home to sumptuous green spaces.

The secret garden is the perfect example. Far from the bustle of the souks, find yourself for a moment of serenity and calm between the sound of water, birds and the surrounding greenery. Two cafes are located in this secret garden, one of which is on the terrace revealing a panoramic view of the city.

The entrance fee is 60 dh (6 €). For people aged between 7 and 24 years old as well as for groups of 10 people or more with reservation by email, the price is 40 dh (4 €) per person. The garden is open every day 9:30 am to 6 pm.

Leaving the medina, the essential Majorelle Garden will welcome you in its sumptuous setting. Created by Jacques Majorelle in 1924, this garden contains a multitude of plants and is characterized by its unique Majorelle blue. Time stands still for a visit. Entrance to the garden is priced at 100 dh (10 €).

You will find the Yves Saint Laurent museum right next door. A retrospective of the artist is exhibited there along with his creations. You will be involved as soon as you enter the world of fashion designer YSL. Admission is 100 dh (10 €). The museum is open Wednesday to Sunday from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.

Marrakech is more than just a city, a history, an emblem.

Whatsapp Chat with us !

Que voir à Marrakech ? 10 endroits à ne pas rater

Que voir à Marrakech ? 10 endroits à ne pas rater

Vous pouvez consacrer une journée entière pour découvrir la Médina et ses souks et arpenter ses ruelles sinueuses. 

Baladez vous sur la place Jamaa El-Fna située au centre de la médina en sirotant un jus d’orange frais et vous laissant envouter par les spectacles de rue, les numéros des charmeurs de serpents et les tatoueuses de henné. 

Profitez également d’un tour en calèche pour visiter la ville.

A la nuit tombée, la place Jamaa el fna change de facette et vit au rythme des restaurants qui s’emparent de l’espace. Un voile de fumée et des senteurs typiquement marocaines flottent au-dessus de la place où se retrouvent petits et grands pour dîner.

La mosquée de la Koutoubia règne sur la ville, c’est l’édifice le plus haut. Cependant, tout comme pour le reste des mosquées de la ville, l’entrée est interdite aux non-musulmans.

Toujours dans la Médina, l’envie d’être encore plus éblouis vous guidera vers la visite des incontournables palais de la ville. Il s’agit du Palais Bahia et du Palais Badii. 

Le Palais Bahia, bordé d’espaces verts, centré par une gigantesque cours et orné par des fresques finement décorées est un endroit riche en découvertes. Le prix de l’entrée est de 70 dh (7 €), ouvert tous les jours de à 9h à 17h.

Le Palais Badii, quant à lui, grandiose dans sa dimension et son ampleur est en partie détruit.

Il se présente comme un décor en ruines, avec des bassins et des plantations d’orangers offrant une magnifique vue sur Marrakech depuis son toit.  Des cigognes y ont élu domicile dans d’énormes nids sur les murs de l’entrée. Le palais accueille des festivals comme le festival annuel de folklore de Marrakech et le festival Marrakech du rire crée par Jamel Debbouze. Le prix de l’entrée est à 70 dh (7 €). Ouvert tous les jours de  9h à 17h.

Dans ces deux palais, Il n’y a pas vraiment d’information disponible pour expliquer l’histoire des lieus lorsque vous êtes sur place. Pensez à vous renseigner en amont ou à prendre un guide pour vous accompagner dans votre visite. Vous pouvez réserver un guide qui vous accompagnera durant vos visites sur notre plateforme. 

A voir aussi : les Tombeaux Saadiens, lieux abritant des sépultures de la famille royale Saadiens

Leur règne du 16ème et fin 17ème correspond à l’âge d’or de la ville. Le lieu offre un florilège de décorations hispano-mauresque, un joli jardin et de magnifiques mausolées. De plus, vous trouverez un coin avec un écran qui diffuse l’histoire des Tombeaux Saadiens. L’entrée est à 70 dh (7 €), ouvert tous les jours de 09h00 à 12h00 et de 14h30 à 18h00.

Outre les somptueux palais, plusieurs musées sont également nichés dans la Médina de Marrakech.

Parmi eux on compte La Maison de la Photographie situé dans un riad de trois étages.

Différents clichés sur les paysages du Maroc et sur le mode de vie de ses habitants entre 1870 et 1950, défileront le long de cette visite .Vous pouvez clore votre passage en sirotant un thé à la menthe dans le café sur le toit surplombant la médina. L’entrée est à 50dh (5 €), ouvert tous les jours de 9h30 à 19h. 

Le musée des confluences est également un musée à ne pas rater à Marrakech. Des pièces exposant la richesse de la culture marocaine, plus belles les unes que les autres, vous ouvrirons leur portes. Au cœur du musée vous tomberez sous le charme du café dar el Bacha, une magnifique expérience tant gustative que visuelle, le lieu est à couper le souffle. Pour le musée, le tarif d’entrée est de 60 dh (6 €) ouvert toute la semaine, sauf le mardi, de 10h00 à 18h00.

La Medina de Marrakech abrite également de somptueux espaces verts.

Le jardin secret en est l’exemple parfait.Loin de l’agitation des souks, retrouvez vous pour un moment de sérénité et de calme entre le son de l’eau, des oiseaux et la verdure environnante. Deux cafés sont situés dans ce jardin secret dont un en terrasse révélant une vue panoramique de la ville.

Le prix de l’entrée est à 60 dh (6 €). Pour les personnes âgées entre 7 et 24 ans ainsi que pour les groupes à partir de 10 personnes avec réservation par mail, le prix est de 40 dh (4 €) par personne. Le jardin est ouvert tous les jours 9h30 à 18h.

Sortant de la médina, l’incontournable Jardin Majorelle vous accueillera dans son somptueux cadre. Créé par Jacques Majorelle en 1924, ce jardin renferme une multitude de plantes et se caractérise par son bleu Majorelle unique. Le temps s’arrête l’espace d’une visite. L’entrée au jardin est au prix de 100 dh (10 €). 

Vous trouverez juste à coté le musée Yves saint Laurent. Une rétrospective de l’artiste y est exposée à l’instar de ses créations. Vous serez immiscé dès l’entrée dans le monde du couturier YSL. L’entrée est à  100 dh (10 €).  Le musée est ouvert du mercredi au dimanche de 9h à 18h.

Marrakech est bien plus qu’une simple ville, une histoire, un emblème.

Whatsapp Besoin de conseils ?